Seize the Day

One afternoon as I casually browsed Facebook, a video called “The Time You Have (In Jellybeans)”caught my attention.

The creators of the video had calculated the number of days an average person has to live demonstrating how we use our time using jelly beans. Each jelly bean was equivalent to one day of life. The screen was filled with a sea of 28,835 jelly beans in the beginning but as time passed the amount of jelly beans became less as they illustrated mundane daily tasks such as eating, sleeping and grooming ourselves. The final shot of the video shows us that the actual free time we have to do things we like only make up 2,470 jelly beans. The importance of seizing the day could not have been made clearer than through that video.

My current reason for seizing the day is in order to prepare a portfolio for applying to study jewellery design in the UK. For the first time, I woke up so early that I prepared breakfast for my family and then got started on my portfolio because I was so excited to apply. Since the summer of the past year I have been making full use of my time on the weekends to go to a studio in Macao to study perfect my skills under Portuguese jewellery designer, Cristina Vinhas. Yesterday, I made my first pair of silver cufflinks from scratch with her guidance. After two days of work, I felt pretty chuffed with myself for progressing so far.

Leave a comment